Print page

A Time to Celebrate Polk State – Canceled

 

Due to Governor Scott’s destructive $3 million line-item veto, President Holden has decided to cancel her retirement event.

Given the very real, imminent threat of having to decrease access to the students who are in the greatest need, lay off staff, and close down programs and centers, she rightfully feels this is not the time for a celebration.

In her letter to invitees and donors below, she expresses her dismay over this unacceptable action and her reasoning behind the cancellation.  She strongly encourages you to appeal to your legislators and implore them to fight against this injustice to Polk State students and the Lake Wales Community.  The most important thing at this very moment is for you to please to contact lawmakers.

If you would still like to send a word of appreciation and donate at your comfort level to Dr. Holden’s scholarship and recognize her servant leadership that has made such a transformational difference and will help students through emergencies and keep them on track toward their college degree, please click here.

Polk County Legislative Delegation:

Senator Denise Grimsley, Senate District 21
Email: grimsley.denise@flsenate.gov
Phone:  (863) 465-2626 / (850) 487-5026

Senator Tom Lee, Senate District 20
Email: lee.tom@flsenate.gov
Phone: 813) 653-7061 / (850) 487-5020

Senator Kelli Stargel, Senate District 15
Email: stargel.kelli@flsenate.gov
Phone: (863) 668-3028 /  (850) 487-5022

Representative Neil Combee, House District 39
Email: neil.combee@myfloridahouse.gov
Phone: (863) 968-5666 / (850) 717-5039

Representative Colleen Burton, House District 40
E-mail: colleen.burton@myfloridahouse.gov
Phone: (863) 413-2640 / (850) 717-5040

Representative Sam Killebrew, House District 41
E-mail: sam.killebrew@myfloridahouse.gov

Phone: (863) 291-5254 / (850) 717-5041

Representative Mike LaRosa, House District 42
E-mail: mike.larosa@myfloridahouse.gov
Phone: (407) 891-2555 / (850) 717-5042

Representative Ben Albritton, House District 56
E-mail: ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov
Phone: (863) 534-0073 / (850) 717-5056